JoJoJoJo

Bringing in parents and me being in closet

17 posts in this topic

Hello

I obtained citizenship through marriage. (I was an international student and am employed now.) Is there any possibility to keep my parents in the dark about my marriage while bringing them here?

I fear that the interview would be mission impossible. Would a lawyer be useful? Would me joining their interview be useful? They don't understand English.

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Kenya
Timeline

5 years and your parents haven't sniffed that you're married? Hard to belive this or you must be good at burying stuff.

And should your parents obtain visas without knowing about the marriage, how will you juggle your living arrangements? Is your spouse going to leave the house the whole time your parents are around? 

Edited by Timona

Immigration journey is not: fast, for the faint at heart, easy, cheap, for the impatient nor right away. If more than 50% of this applies to you, best get off the bus.

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Taiwan
Timeline
1 hour ago, JoJoJoJo said:

Hello

I obtained citizenship through marriage. (I was an international student and am employed now.) Is there any possibility to keep my parents in the dark about my marriage while bringing them here?

I fear that the interview would be mission impossible. Would a lawyer be useful? Would me joining their interview be useful? They don't understand English.

An attorney would be of no benefit.  I don't think there is any way to ensure they won't find out.  I think you're walking a tightrope.  Good luck. 

"The US immigration process requires a great deal of knowledge, planning, time, patience, and a significant amount of money.  It is quite a journey!"

- Some old child of the 50's & 60's on his laptop 

Senior Master Sergeant, US Air Force- Retired (after 20+ years)- Missile Systems Maintenance & Titan 2 ICBM Launch Crew Duty (200+ Alert tours)