nachnam

Case denial- please help!

51 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: England
Timeline

Hello everyone! I am trying to help a friend find answers and guidance on the below situation. Any thoughts or suggestions? Is there a way to appeal this as she was going through unforeseen circumstances? 

I  am in a difficult situation right now and I would really need someone's help . I will explain in short what's going on -:
 I was admitted to Texas Center for Infectious Disease due to a life threatening case of tuberculosis and was quarantined and treated  in the  hospital for 2.5 years due to this. While in hospital,  I graduated from University of Houston.

I intially came to the US on international student visa. In  February 2021,  I applied for my work permit. I sent my application to Immigration Office (USCIS). On May 20th 2021, they told me that my application was denied because I missed a deadline of application in December but I was in the hospital during this time still undergoing treatment.  I was released from hospital after the deadline passed. 
So I applied again in May 2021. This time I submitted documents to them, doctor's letter from the hospital, school advisor's letter and my cover letter explaining my situation that why I got delayed in application process - because I was sick and that hospital also had COVID restrictions. But on August 27th 2021 I found out that they denied my application again. The reason being same - I missed the deadline in December. It looks like from the denial notice that they did not consider or look at my supported documents.