Justintime2

US & Canadian fire fighters marry, need some guidance

17 posts in this topic

Hopefully this is in the correct forum and makes sense. I know this takes bit of time to read through and type out a response so thank you in advance for any info or direction, and be gentle, this is my first time! :*)

After all the reading I've got a bunch of completed forms w/documentation but not sure I completely understand the sequence and don't know what I don't know.

1. Which is the best way/sequence to file these and am I missing anything?

2. Does parole effect us (not sure I understand it)

3. While this is processing is she still able to come and go across the border as a normal visitor?

4. Does her job effect this process before, during or after?

5. What question am I not asking that I should?

Our info:

Married in WA State on July 5th 2019 and have been working on all the filings.

I live and work in WA State up near the Canadian border, she lives and works in BC, Canada down near the US border. We're about 45-mins apart.

She's down here on her days off and I'm up there occasionally on mine, both have Nexus.

She intends to live here and commute to her fire fighter job in Canada and maybe eventually work in the US. Her job is actually closer to my home in the US then it is to her home in Canada.

We've completed but not submitted the following:

I-129F

I-130

I-485

G-1145

She's also completed her health exam which is sealed by the US doctor and ready to go.

She's changed her last name to mine. (already changed her Canadian drivers license, passport and Nexus)

Me:

47-YOM US citizen by birth

Fire captain w/20-yrs on the job (in US)

Divorced over a decade ago

1 daughter who's 24 and out on her own

Own my own home, perfect credit, no criminal record and back ground checked extensively for my job

Wife:

43-YOF Canadian citizen by birth

Fire Fighter w/3yrs on the job (in Canada)

Never married

No kids