m747

Health Insurance: My Wife employer is asking a proof I dont have insurance in my home country

23 posts in this topic

Hi Everyone!

I'll be moving to the US this month from Argentina.

As I'm very afraid of the COVID situation in the US, I want to have health insurance from the first day I put a feet on american soil.

I've read a lot of topics here in this forum and i understand that under the ACA, my wife can add me to her Health Insurance program through her employer. However, here is the problem: They are asking her a proof that I dont have any kind of health insurance in argentina

Can they ask for that as a requisite? Because here in Argentina, health insurance is universal and free, so I simply cant give them any document that says that "i dont have insurance in argentina", its a constitutional right to be have insurance.

Are they right on what they are asking? 

Thanks in advance!

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Australia
Timeline

So I am a Permanent Resident of Australia and I am covered under the Medicare (NOT USA Medicare) there.  However, the coverage is ONLY good if I am in Australia.  Is Argentinian health insurance limited only to Argentina?  Your wife's insurance wants to be sure there is not "double-dipping".  I believe you can write a letter stating that Argentina has universal health coverage, but it ONLY covers you if you are in Argentina.  Therefore, you need coverage for the United States. 

Hopefully that will work.  The US folk just don't understand national health schemes!!!

If you can find a website (in English) that explains the Argentina health scheme, you could attach that.

Best of luck,

Sukie in NY

Spoiler

Spoiler

Our Prior Journey

N-400 Naturalization

18-Feb-2018 - submitted N-400 online, credit card charged

18-Feb-2018 - NOA1

12-Mar-2018 - Biometrics 

18-June-2018 - Notice of interview received

26-July-2018 - Interview  - APPROVED!!!

26-July-2018 - Oath Ceremony Scheduled

17-Aug-2018 - Oath Ceremony