assila

My husband has decided not to come

20 posts in this topic

Filed: F-2A Visa Country: Philippines
Timeline

I'm a permanent resident in USA. I'll be applying for citizenship next month. I've been waiting for my husband and 2 sons to arrive. It's been a long road. My husband and his mother think it's best that he doesn't come, but they said I can come get the kids. All our paperwork is done, we've been waiting for several months for an interview date to open. What do I need to do to inform immigration that he doesn't want to come? 

Timeline
39 minutes ago, SusieQQQ said:

Hm, it’s a little tricky if you applied for your husband as principal and the kids as derivatives on the same petition, because then if he doesn’t come they need a new petition.  Probably easiest way to address this is file separate petitions for them ASAP, and once you are a USC, assuming they are under 21 these will upgrade  IR2 petitions (they would have lost derivative status anyway if you naturalized before they got visas as they type of petition changes if you’re a citizen). If you already petitioned them each separately (this is advised for people who will naturalize during the process) then it’s easier and you just let your husband’s petition lapse, but may need his permission for them to get visas. You should get documentation of at least joint custody anyway, as if the children are under 18 and come in on immigrant visas to live with you (need physical and legal custody) they will automatically become citizens too.

I've been blindsided by this and I'm a bit panicked. I would like to try to get things worked out - I don't know. 

I understand most of what you've stated, but I'm a little unclear about the naturalization. Let's say we work things out and he decides to continue with the process. Should I hold off on naturalization until they get here? Thank you so much for your help!

Filed: F-2A Visa Country: Nepal
Timeline