Singh90

Ki Visa approved but want to come back to Canada for the time the work authorization isn't approved. Is it an option ?

33 posts in this topic

Filed: AOS (pnd) Country: Canada
Timeline

Hi, I just got my K1 visa approved from Montreal Consulate. And k1 is a single entry visa. In my understanding, work Authorization is only provided for the time  K1visa is valid till. 

I am an aerospace engineer in Canada and as soon as I enter United States I wont be able to work. 

Any experts out there, who are able to throw some light on it ?

Is there a way I can go to US register my wedding, file settlement of status and work authorization and come back to Canada continue my job ?

Note: i am a permanent resident in Canada. Not a citizen

Filed: AOS (apr) Country: Philippines
Timeline
1 minute ago, Singh90 said:

Hi, I just got my K1 visa approved from Montreal Consulate. And k1 is a single entry visa. In my understanding, work Authorization is only provided for the time  K1visa is valid till. 

I am an aerospace engineer in Canada and as soon as I enter United States I wont be able to work. 

Is there a way I can go to US register my wedding, file settlement of status and work authorization and come back to Canada continue my job ?

Not without significant bench time.   You need to wait until advance parole is approved which is 6 to 7 months 

YMMV

7 minutes ago, Singh90 said:

Didn’t you recently post about the same thing?

Filed: Country: Vietnam (no flag)
Timeline
5 minutes ago, Singh90 said:

Nope, there is no way for you to come on the K-1, file for AOS, and return to Canada immediately.  Once you file for AOS, you would need AP to leave the US and be able to return to the US.  It takes 6 months for AP.  There is absolutely no way for you to work around AP and go back to Canada to continue your job without abandoning the entire process.

If working is important to you, then you should have gotten a CR-1 spousal visa.  

8 minutes ago, Singh90 said: