VegasJohn

First post - Questions about K-1 vs. IR-1/CR-1

34 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Colombia
Timeline

Greetings all!

First ever post here - so glad to have found this forum! I'm a US citizen, born and raised. My Colombian fiancee and I have been researching the immigration process and I have to admit it's a little overwhelming.  I'm a lawyer, but unfortunately not an immigration lawyer, and even for someone like me who is accustomed to reading laws and regulations and procedures, the multiple step processes and forms can be difficult to keep track of and daunting, and we obviously want to do everything right in order to allow us to be together as soon as possible.  I live in Las Vegas, Nevada and she lives in Medellin, Colombia.  While we are fortunate that I am able to spend a week a month there for work, we hope the process moves quickly so that she can move to the states and live with me and get married and live together in the US as soon as possible. 

As my initial post, I'd like to throw out a question as well as a general request for comments from anyone who have gone through or are going through one of the two options we are considering. Apologies if I'm posting this to the wrong forum, but here goes: