AfroKing

Please, advise me!!!!!!

12 posts in this topic

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Nigeria
Timeline

1. I came into the United States end of last year, (Dec 29th)  and was hoping my SSN card will be delivered within the shortest time frame. Its been more than four weeks and its not been delivered. I got tracking from USPS on my green card to be delivered today. I thought the SSN card should or usually arrives faster than the GC. Is it the right frame of time to approach an SSN  office and apply physically since its going to be 5 weeks  by next week? I don't want to appear overzealous ..............( Just so you know, i opt to have the SSN sent in my DS260)

2. What is the best way to find a lucrative job? I have a Master's Degree but the jobs I've scouted so far are offering low pay,even lower than some of their workers with no Educational qualifications or as much work experience as me, which makes me think i might not be doing something right. Maybe there's a smarter way asides Linkedin, i hate to be idle.

3. lastly, the cultural change is not that shocking but its a bit. Folks who immigrated, how did you cope when you first moved here?  I would like to learn on the things,activities i can do to meet people, make new friends,network.

Thanks 

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Taiwan
Timeline
6 minutes ago, AfroKing said:

I have a Master's Degree

In what field of study?  In what field are you try to secure a career?

Edited by Crazy Cat

"The US immigration process requires a great deal of knowledge, planning, time, patience, and a significant amount of money.  It is quite a journey!"

- Some old child of the 50's & 60's on his laptop 

Senior Master Sergeant, US Air Force- Retired (after 20+ years)- Missile Systems Maintenance & Titan 2 ICBM Launch Crew Duty (200+ Alert tours)

Registered Nurse- Retired- I practiced in the areas of Labor & Delivery, Home Health, Adolescent Psych, & Adult Psych.