timquark

Which Visa? J-1? K-1? O?

20 posts in this topic

Hi guys!

At the very beginning of my visa journey and the first thing I need is advice on is which visa I should look into.  Here's my background...

I'm a UK citizen, my girlfriend lives in California and has two children from a previous relationship so it makes more sense for me to relocate rather than her.  We've been together two years (long distance, meeting up in person during holidays etc.)  We are unquestionably committed to being together for the long term...so that's making me think K-1?

On the other hand, I am a High School Physics and Chemistry Teacher with 9 years experience and a Master's in Chemistry, which might give me the option of J-1 instead?

I am also an internationally published author, my first book was briefly a bestseller in the US and my second is soon to be published there.  I highly doubt this qualifies me for an O, I don't think I'm anywhere near that level of "alien with extraordinary talent" but thought I would ask in case anyone knew.

So...where should I begin?  What kind of Visa is my most sensible option to start investigating?

Thanks a bunch.  I'm looking forward to getting to know this community.

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Nigeria
Timeline
4 minutes ago, timquark said:

Hi guys!

At the very beginning of my visa journey and the first thing I need is advice on is which visa I should look into.  Here's my background...

I'm a UK citizen, my girlfriend lives in California and has two children from a previous relationship so it makes more sense for me to relocate rather than her.  We've been together two years (long distance, meeting up in person during holidays etc.)  We are unquestionably committed to being together for the long term...so that's making me think K-1?

On the other hand, I am a High School Physics and Chemistry Teacher with 9 years experience and a Master's in Chemistry, which might give me the option of J-1 instead?