malucarlinha

Portuguese Husband's VWP 90 days almost up! HELP!

94 posts in this topic

Filed: Other Country: Portugal
Timeline

Hi all, I'm new here but in some serious need of advice!

So, I've been dating a long time friend of mine on and off since I was 16. Nothing too serious, plus he lives him London and I spend most of my free time in Rio de Janeiro Brazil. Anyway, he met me in Rio last June (2010) and we started getting more serious. On his way back to London in september 2010, he stopped here to visit me and his cousin who also lives here and just had a baby. We ended up completely falling in love and realizing that we have to be together, no matter where we are in the world, so we got hitched. I have no problem moving to Europe, but my parents are here and I want to help them out for a few more years, plus I just got a degree in my field (I'm an animator) and would love to get some experience before moving overseas. So basically:

-My husband arrived September 16

-We were married Oct 16 (coincidentally I realized later that we probably should have waited- but we were way too excited with our decision)

-We have not filed the I-130 or the I-485 yet because we were told to file it all together, and he needs to get his portuguese birth certificate still (not even his mother has it they've moved so much)

-Next Wednesday, the 15th will be his 90th day here.

-My family is pretty wealthy, so we have a great co-sponsor, but we do not have the cash (the two of us) to spend on lawyers and penalties.

My question is, how bad is it if he is a few days "illegal" until they send us a notice that they received our application? If we get it all in the mail say, by Monday, his 88th day here and send it over night, should we be alright? Is it better if he goes back to Europe for a couple days and comes back in on his visa waiver? Or will we get in trouble for bringing him in as a tourist when hes really coming in to stay? My instinct tells me he should stay...