Mora3737!

Looking for advice and help to figure out the physical presence requirement.

12 posts in this topic

Hi!

I am new to this and would truly appreciate any help and advise on my situation. I am thinking is it even worth for me to try to apply for citizenship or not. The USCIS website is allowing me to submit but also prompts me with a warning saying that I may not be eligible after all.

I am a Green Card holder (since 6,5 years now). I lived in the USA for the first 3+ years continuously. However, the past 5 years counted together is a different story as I had some disruptions:

In 2019 I returned to my home country and ended up staying for 9 months due to health issues. Then I returned to the USA in January 2020 just before the Pandemic hit and ended up leaving March 18th  (I left due to the Pandemic but also due to still lingering health issues). Due to my health issues I ended up staying in my home country for almost an entire year (about 11,5 months). I returned to the USA in the beginning of March 2021. I stayed for 9 months and then went back home where I was for a day under 6 months. I returned to the USA on the 31st of May 2022 and I'm still here. 

As I'm filling in the form it states that I spent 903 days outside the U.S. during the last 5 years. Which is still in the range, however, I have those long stays away that both exceed 6 months and in my understanding break physical presence rules.

Also when I was away I did not keep a lease/apartment in the USA, I did not have any employer in the USA and I have no family in the USA. 

Does anyone know if the USCIS is being more flexible when looking at the year 2020 due to the Pandemic? Also, I have doctors notes stating I was unable to travel for both of those longer stays back home- but I don't see anywhere that that would count. I am wondering if they let you explain why you were away or will they just deny the application without allowing to explain?