GregandNatty

Beware of Fake Attorney Duke Walker offering a Quick Fix

30 posts in this topic

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Uganda
Timeline

I am an admin for a sub-Saharan Africa VISA Facebook Group and ran across a guy recently that was offering to fix the issues with the lack of interviews for a $2,000 fee.  He promised resolution inside of 21 days.  He claimed to be an immigration attorney. 

Since I've been in the IR1/CR1 process for nearly 2 years, I PM'd the guy and actually even asked for a phone meeting and an engagement letter.  My wife and I are getting a bit desperate, so I bit.

First red flag was this guys profile picture,  and website pictures, was clearly of a very Caucasian person, but on the phone he had a very heavy accent that wasn't European.  He cut the call short and said we would make more headway on whatsapp and email.   

Second red flag was this guy sent me the engagement letter and it looked very Amateur.

Still holding out some hope this guy was legit, but also not wanting to just throw away $2,000, I decided to do some research.  So, I took a few hours one morning really researched this guy.   Here is what I found:

1.  His website https://visaofficeofdukewalker.com/ was registered in January of 2021, but he claims he has been in business doing immigration law since 2002.

2.  This guy said he was licensed in the state of Texas to practice law.  I did a query of the Taxes bar association and did find a Duke Walker, but this man is 67 years old.  The person in the picture on his website is very clearly in his 40s.  I confronted the person with this information and he told me he is Duke Walker Jr and Duke Walker, Senior, is his mentor and adopted dad so he took on the name.  Yes, pretty dicey, but possible.  However, there is not other Duke Walker registered with the Texas State Bar to practice law nor in any other state in the US.