jordanmic

Can I file for unemployment? Public Charge?

9 posts in this topic

Hi,

I got my conditional green card in September 2019 through marriage. I did DoorDash (food delivery) for the last 4 weeks and currently don't feel safe going out to work due to the virus spreading. Can I file for unemployment? I never filed for taxes because this is my first time working here in the US. Also will filing for unemployment make it hard for me to remove the conditions off my green card and eventually apply for citizenship?

Thank you so much!

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Wales
Timeline

Sounds like you were not an employee? UI is for employees who have been laid off..

“If you know the enemy and know yourself, you need not fear the result of a hundred battles. If you know yourself but not the enemy, for every victory gained you will also suffer a defeat. If you know neither the enemy nor yourself, you will succumb in every battle.”

58 minutes ago, jordanmic said:

Hi,

I got my conditional green card in September 2019 through marriage. I did DoorDash (food delivery) for the last 4 weeks and currently don't feel safe going out to work due to the virus spreading. Can I file for unemployment? I never filed for taxes because this is my first time working here in the US. Also will filing for unemployment make it hard for me to remove the conditions off my green card and eventually apply for citizenship?

Thank you so much!

Unemployment is not welfare, or a handout.  It is a type of insurance that employees and employers pay into.  Receiving unemployment benefits is based on a list of eligibility criteria.  Some states are modifying the criteria for gig workers in the context of covid19.  Best idea is to check with your state's employment security/labor department.

Filed: AOS (apr) Country: Philippines
Timeline
1 hour ago, jordanmic said:

Hi,

Thank you so much!