LightSear

Affidavit of Support

27 posts in this topic

My wife is Chinese and I am an American.  We are planning to have my wife immigrate to America in June and for me to find a teaching job as I have a degree and prof certificate in Music Education.  I have already submitted the I-130 with the $500 something fee and received approval to apply for a visa.  We have discovered I must complete an affidavit of support.  Can I do this without a job?  Do we have to wait until I have a job before she can apply for the visa?

Basics

January 10, 2011 Began Dating

January 20, 2012 Engaged

January 19, 2013 Married

Living in China

Process

Feb 19, 2019  I-130 Filed in Beijing

April 16, 2019   I-130 Approved

Awaiting Interview Information

As her spouse you must complete the I-864 affidavit of support, even if your income and/or assets are insufficient. If you do not meet the financial requirements you can use a joint sponsor who does meet them. 

Timeline in brief:

Married: September 27, 2014

I-130 filed: February 5, 2016

NOA1: February 8, 2016 Nebraska

NOA2: July 21, 2016

Interview: December 6, 2016 London

POE: December 19, 2016 Las Vegas

N-400 filed: September 30, 2019

Interview: March 22, 2021 Seattle

Oath: March 22, 2021 COVID-style same-day oath

Now a US citizen!

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Greece
Timeline

I would advise you to get a job first before applying.That way you increase chances of being approved.Personally,I think you need to consider not only getting your spouse there but able to cope with expensive life in US as a couple.

Best of luck😉

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Morocco
Timeline

When did you apply? If it was recently she will not be able to move by June...even DCF takes a few months.  If you do not meet the financial requirements you will need to find a co sponsor that does. If you come to the US first to get a job then you no longer meet DCF requirements and will need to do a CR1

Edited by EandH0904