27 posts in this topic

I'm an F-1 student, my husband and got married on November 11, 2011. I am here legally, we don't have any criminal records and so on. We are almost ready to send our forms to USCIS. But we can't decide if we should go with a lawyer or not.

Have you had any experience with lawyer? Has the process been faster?

3/23/2012 (Day 0) - I-130, I-485 and I-765 sent
4/02/2012 (Day 11) - Hard Copy of NOA1 in the mail of I-130, I-485 and I-765
4/04/2012 (Day 13) - Received a letter for biometrics appointment for 4/20/2012.
4/20/2012 (Day 29) - Biometrics done
5/03/2012 (Day 42) - Status online changed to interview, scheduled for June 11
5/16/2012 (Day 55) - EAD Card Production, online status update
5/24/2012 (Day 63) - EAD Card in the mail
6/11/2012 (Day 83) - Interview, approved on the spot

05/19/2014 (Day 0) - Mailed I-751

05/27/2014 (Day 8) - Received NOA1

Filed: Citizen (pnd) Country: Mexico
Timeline

A lawyer does not make the process go any faster, they have no influence over USCIS. If your case is pretty simple as it seems to be for what your saying I would advice you to save your money and do it yourself. Good luck!

Edit: Also VJ has A LOT of very helpful information, not to mention all the helpful people here in case you have any doubts. No need to pay anyone else! :)

Edited by paojack

K1 visa
Filed I-129: Dec 3rd 2010
Interview: July 6th 2011 APPROVED!

AOS
Filed: Oct 4th 2011
AOS Interview: Feb 7th 2012 - RFE sad.png
AOS Approved: Feb 9th - without sending RFE
Green Card received: Feb 17th smile.png

ROC

Filed: Nov 13th 2013

Approved: March 13th 2014

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Canada
Timeline

Lawyers can actually slow up your case. They check, double check, and then check again (when you know yourself that the info on the forms is correct)

So unless you have a particularly difficult case, no need to have a lawyer, it is certainly not faster

Good luck

USCIS
August 12, 2008 - petition sent
August 16, 2008 - NOA-1