25 posts in this topic

Filed: AOS (pnd) Country: Brazil
Timeline

Hello everyone! I looked for a similar question and just couldn't find anything that quite fit my current situation. I have a few questions regarding it.

I am a permanent resident in the United States. I have been living here since 2012 after getting married to an American Citizen on a K1 visa. Our marriage ultimately failed a little less than a year after I got my 10 year GC. We are not divorced yet, but we live in separate places. Although the marriage failed, we are still in good terms with each other. To a certain extent, her family is still fairly friendly towards me, and I do think they're great people. The only problem we have lies in the sponsorship.

When we got married, her mother was the co-sponsor since my former wife didn't meet the standards. She still doesn't. What's going on right now is that her mother is afraid I might drain her resources (I currently am a student but they provide me no money whatsoever and I do just fine). She obviously doesn't want the liability and doesn't want to go forward being obligated to be a sponsor of someone who no longer is part of her family (which is very understandable). We all understand that she can't get out of that contract until I become a citizen (which I intended on doing regardless), however, some other people in her family have been talking about alternative ways for her to get out of that contract. The only way I know it is because my ex wife told me.