Mineira

Finding a job in San Francisco

21 posts in this topic

Hello everyone :)

I got my GC back in 2014. After getting my GC I spent one year studying English to improve my writing and speaking skills. I didn't feel good about my English before but now I do :). I have been looking for a job here in SF. I have a bachelor's degree in Business from Brazil. Unfortunetely I have no experience and it is hard to get experience without a job. I have tried retail stores but I don't know why, but every time I tell them I am married to a woman they say they will call me but never do ( I really hope it's not because I'm married to a woman.) So I would like some advice from you. What could I do to improve my chances of getting an administrative job? Should I just say that I am married but hide the fact that it's with a woman, until I get an offer? I would hate to lie, but it's been hard on my wife having to provide for both of us.

Thank you all for your time :)

Filed: Other Country: Canada
Timeline

I doubt that your sexuality has anything to do with it. Retail is a difficult monster with no experience. Many won't hire without it as the turnover is usually high. Administration is very picky as well especially if you're going to be speaking to the public. Some will discriminate that way unfortunately. Have you tried temp agencies? They're a good place to start

I doubt that your sexuality has anything to do with it. Retail is a difficult monster with no experience. Many won't hire without it as the turnover is usually high. Administration is very picky as well especially if you're going to be speaking to the public. Some will discriminate that way unfortunately. Have you tried temp agencies? They're a good place to start

I haven't tried temp agencies yet! Thank you for your advice. Will start looking for agencies here :)

Edited by Mineira

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: England
Timeline