ortizan

Recent Filipino Immigrant looking for work

13 posts in this topic

Hi,

I've read several threads separately but most of them were made a few years back. I wanted to start a thread of my own just to check if anything has changed or maybe a new advice may be given.

I've only been in the U.S. for 2 weeks and have applied for several companies but have not heard from most of them, those that did come back to me just told me that they proceeded to hire somebody else.

I have an IT degree in the Philippines and have 7 years total professional experience mixed with Digital Marketing and Web Development. I know it's wrong but I expected to at least hear from someone at least for an interview by now as I assumed the demand for tech here in the US is high.

I've watched this video 

which helped me in realizing that I haven't patterned my resume to how the U.S. market reads it. It doesn't feel natural to me though. I was taught to not repeat words or they get boring to read.

However, I'd still like to validate with the people who have stayed here for years now.

My questions are:

1. If you are someone from the same industry, did you experience the same thing? How long does it usually take?
  2. Do you have any tips with writing resumes that's ATS compatible?
  3. Aside from networking with people(it's pretty difficult for me to do so because of where I live), do you have any other tips?
  4. For those that eventually learned about ATS, did you get more calls after?
  5. Do experienced people need to get their diplomas certified somewhere?
  6. How else can I improve my credentials? Any certifications that you could recommend that wouldn't cost that much?

Any and all comments are very well appreciated!