idontknow123

Getting a divorce - Can he claim it was a fake marriage after we were married for 8 years?

18 posts in this topic

Filed: Timeline

Hello,

So I've decided to file for divorce after things with my husband went south. He's become mean and spiteful, has threatened to have me fired (I don't know how he could but it's still scary) and now he just said he was going to claim our marriage wasn't real although it was an we were married for 8 years. I've been a resident since 2009 and I've had my 10 year green card since 2011.

Should I be worried about any sort of problems arising due to that? If it came to that I'm sure I could prove it was a real marriage although I hope it doesn't get to that.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Philippines
Timeline

Divorce and forget him, no one is going to believe it's an 8 year sham marriage. Unless he has absolute hard evidence, which I sincerly doubt he does or it wouldn't have taken him 8 years to say something. Just trying to get you scared....

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Vietnam
Timeline

Divorce and move on. Anyone who threatens with that kind of BS is worthless.

Divorce and move on. No issues for you. Anyone who threatens with that kind of BS is worthless.

I-864 Affidavit of Support FAQ -->> https://travel.state.gov/content/visas/en/immigrate/immigrant-process/documents/support/i-864-frequently-asked-questions.html

FOREIGN INCOME REPORTING & TAX FILING -->> https://www.irs.gov/publications/p54/ch01.html#en_US_2015_publink100047318

CALL THIS NUMBER TO ORDER IRS TAX TRANSCRIPTS >> 800-908-9946

PLEASE READ THE GUIDES -->> Link to Visa Journey Guides

MULTI ENTRY SPOUSE VISA TO VN -->>Link to Visa Exemption for Vietnamese Residents Overseas & Their Spouses

Filed: K-3 Visa Country: Indonesia
Timeline

Hello,