UK_Fan

No luck with a bank account

19 posts in this topic

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Russia
Timeline

So I go today to open a bank account... Have my SS card and my EAD with me because I haven't gotten my sate ID or permit yet (that's bother story). The banker lady takes my stuff, goes to her supervisor and comes back 20 mins later, basically telling me that they don't open bank accounts to non-USC and if they do, they would have to charge me 20$ a month for it. I'm like, okay what if when I am a permanent resident, she says, nope, green card only means that u can work here but u are still a Russian citizen. Well I knew that neither she nor her supervisor knew what they were talking about. So I ask her if she could add me to my husbands account, she said no, because it would be the same thing. The funny thing is that 3 months prior when my husband opened a checking account with them and asked if they could add me to it, they were going to, but couldn't because my passport was expired. But now that I have all the proper forms of ID they decide to pull this. And also, had I had my KY drivers license or state ID, she wouldn't even know that I was out of country. But I just thought I'd share this frustration. My husband thought it was bull ####### as well... Onto another bank tomorrow!

event.png

Perhaps try a credit union instead. They have a better reputation for actually caring about their customers (since in essence they are owned by their customers).

http://www.asmarterchoice.org/

http://researchcu.ncua.gov/Views/FindCreditUnions.aspx

Widow/er AoS Guide | Have AoS questions? Read (some) answers here

AoS

Day 0 (4/23/12) Petitions mailed (I-360, I-485, I-765)
2 (4/25/12) Petitions delivered to Chicago Lockbox
11 (5/3/12) Received 3 paper NOAs
13 (5/5/12) Received biometrics appointment for 5/23
15 (5/7/12) Did an unpleasant walk-in biometrics in Fort Worth, TX
45 (6/7/12) Received email & text notification of an interview on 7/10