Kristina92

K1 AWA

13 posts in this topic

Hi everyone 🙂

This is my first time posting but I have been reading previous posts for a while now.

My fiancé (US citizen) and I were planning on starting our K1 visa but when I looked on the application form I saw it asked about criminal records etc which is when I found about the awa. My fiancé was convicted when he was 17 (now 31) and his crime would fall under that. So naturally we were heartbroken to find out the process of getting me over there will not be an easy one. I spent days and days and days crying and felt completely empty at the idea of not being able to be together. He wouldn’t be able to move here (the UK). After reading many posts I understand that the cost of this will be huge but we’re both willing and happy to pay whatever is needed. I have read about successful waivers and what evidence they provided with their NOID. I’m just wondering if anyone else has updates on their waivers that I may have missed and not seen? I’ve read many posts which don’t have any updates. For those of you who were denied, what did you do next? 

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Morocco
Timeline

https://amcgaritylaw.com/the-adam-walsh-act-and-sponsoring-immigrant-relatives/#:~:text=AWA Convictions Are Broad&text=First%2C the term “specified offense,as kidnapping and false imprisonment.

read the part that starts NO RISK EXEMPTION

There is no waiver or appeal available. Rather, there is an exception called a ‘no risk’ exception. Per a 2007 USCIS memo entitled the Aytes Memo, a USCIS officer may make a discretionary, non-reviewable determination that the U.S. citizen or legal permanent resident petitioner does not pose a risk to the immigrating relative, based on his or her AWA conviction. Factors include not just the nature and severity of the conviction (and the facts supporting the conviction), but also: