quitethejourney2

Beginner DIY-visa questions

19 posts in this topic

Hi VisaJourney,

After reading around on the web, everyone points to here as the go-to DIY-visa resource. I'm just beginning this DIY journey, so apologies if these two questions are basic and repeated elsewhere. These are just general clarification questions.

1) I am the US citizen and my partner lives overseas. We are not yet married. However, we would like to move forward with the marriage process. The most appropriate option would be the Fiance K-1 visa, correct? I.e. I am correct to assume that my partner cannot visit me in the US, get married here, return home, and then begin the CR-1 process?

2) Regarding provable income for sponsorship, how do they assess this? I am currently in a job that pays ~32k USD, but will be returning to graduate school in August and my university-defined income will be ~21k (although ancillary jobs will put it towards ~25k). I have two family members (i.e. my parents) who are willing to act as a co-sponsor for the fiance/spouse visa (Form I-134 and Form I-864a). 

Can't wait to become part of the VisaJourney community!

1 minute ago, quitethejourney2 said:

I am correct to assume that my partner cannot visit me in the US, get married here, return home, and then begin the CR-1 process?

Incorrect. Assuming he/she has the required permission (tourist visa or approved ESTA or is Canadian) then he/she can marry you whilst visiting, return home and you proceed with the CR-1. 

This option might be better for you anyway since money seems tight. On a K-1 he/she will not be able to work for many months. And you will have more fees to pay and also pay for some health insurance for him/her. With a CR-1 he/she will be able to work immediately. The CR-1 is also cheaper, faster to a green card (and citizenship, if this part of your plans). 

Timeline in brief:

Married: September 27, 2014

I-130 filed: February 5, 2016

NOA1: February 8, 2016 Nebraska

NOA2: July 21, 2016