Delilah1726

Fiance or Spouse Visa for Cuba - which is best?

12 posts in this topic

Hi all,

I am new to this so bear with me.  I am a US Citizen and my fiance is a Cuban citizen.  We planned on marrying in Cuba so that I could then submit the i130 petition because I was under the impression that that is the "quickest" process (and better chances of approval).  However it seems to me that due to the new Trump administration things have changed and things are getting harder and more confusing.  I see many people have gone the i129 Fiance Visa route but I am not sure if this is because the process is "quicker" or better.

Does anyone have any suggestions on which process is best?

Thank you

3 minutes ago, H&T said:

I-130 is the best choice. It only took 2-3 more month in compare to K1, but you will save a ton of money and time.

Thank you! So now there is a K3 Visa and a CR1 Visa, I read about the differences but is there one suggested over the other?

Again, bear with me... your response is much appreciated.

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Russia
Timeline

Basically the things to think about are

• How important is it for your fiancé(e) to work and travel internationally quickly after arriving?
  • Can you marry relatively quickly in your country, your fiancé(e)'s country, or a third country?
  • Are you comfortable living apart for a long time while married?
  • If your fiancé(e) has children you'll also be bringing with, what are the legal implications of either visa type?
K-1                             AOS                            
NOA1 Notice Date: 2018-05-31    NOA1 Notice Date: 2019-04-11   
NOA2 Date: 2018-11-16           Biometrics Date: 2019-05-10    
Arrived at NVC:  2018-12-03     EAD/AP In Hand: 2019-09-16     
Arrived in Moscow: 2018-12-28   GC Interview Date: 2019-09-25      
Interview date: 2019-02-14      GC In Hand: 2019-10-02
Visa issued: 2019-02-28
POE: 2019-03-11
Wedding: 2019-03-14

ROC                             Naturalization