LD182

F1 Student - DV Lottery - Expiring Visa and Passport

20 posts in this topic

Filed: F-1 Visa Country: Morocco
Timeline

Hi!

I'm an international student and I entered the DV Lottery this year and I want to be prepared when I win. My F-1 visa expires in December 2018 and my passport expires in October 2018. My I-20 is valid and I will still be in status. Will that affect the process of getting a green card? Will I need to send copies of my passport and visa with the documents needed?

Thank you.

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Wales
Timeline

Do I take it you won?

“If you know the enemy and know yourself, you need not fear the result of a hundred battles. If you know yourself but not the enemy, for every victory gained you will also suffer a defeat. If you know neither the enemy nor yourself, you will succumb in every battle.”

You won't get a green card immediately. There are more people who win that the number of green cards that they give away. First, you have to act quickly if you get selected, because the order in which you present your paperwork matters. Second, there is a thorough process of selection and not everyone who won can actually get a green card (though if you have an F1 then it means you studied something, so your chances are good).

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Brazil
Timeline
51 minutes ago, LD182 said:

Hi!

I'm an international student and I entered the DV Lottery this year and I want to be prepared when I win.

Kudos on the confidence! :thumbs:

Filed: F-2A Visa Country: Nepal
Timeline