mojo89

Eligible for citizenship, but divorced

24 posts in this topic

It's that time again... time for endless sleepless nights and anxiety overload. So to give you a brief summary - came to the US in 2012, got my CPR in July 2013. Got LPR in November 2015. During the process for removal of conditions my ex and I already started having issues, and we did marriage counseling and all. However, things didn't work out and we got divorced in February 2017. So based on the 5 year rule, I can apply for citizenship in late April this year. It's February and I'm falling apart from anxiety. The main reason is because him and his family have threatened to get me deported after we divorced, so your guess is as good as mine when it comes to not knowing if they contacted USCIS. Anyways, in the meantime I graduated and moved to a different state and have a job of my dreams. The stress about citizenship interview is making me to almost not apply for it and just renew my GC in 2025. I do however have a meeting with a lawyer on the 20th of this month for a consultation (I guess I just need affirmation) but I found in the past that this forum has had some valid information. 

I don't know, maybe I'm panicking and overreacting for no reason, but current president and my ex husband both have me on edge. I have a massive dilemma and not enough Xanax to push me through this stress. 

I welcome all thoughts, opinions, and advice. 

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Argentina
Timeline

exactly

forget about them, they aren't worth it, they can't do a thing about it. you are here to stay

you can file for citizenship under the 5 year rule

7 minutes ago, aleful said:

exactly

forget about them, they aren't worth it, they can't do a thing about it. you are here to stay

you can file for citizenship under the 5 year rule