Calendula

Single and unemployed, want to apply for B1-B2 visa to go visit my boyfriend

32 posts in this topic

Filed: AOS (pnd) Country: France
Timeline

Hello everyone!

I am a resident of a country in the Visa Waiver Program. My boyfriend lives in the US, he is a US citizen. I've been there for a week at the end of September, then for 3 months.

We would like to make my next visit longer than that so I can meet his family and friends, and visit places we couldn't last time, but for that I would need a tourist visa.

I started an application for a B1-B2 visa that would allow me to attend conferences and short training classes during my stay, while visiting.
But then, before paying the fees, I looked more into what would be asked of me and the documents required for me to show that I will come back to my country after my stay.

Here is my situation:

-I just graduated and am currently looking for a job

-I am not married and don't have any kid here

-I live with my parents, and own a car and bank accounts that can only be used while I'm here

-He would be my sponsor, but we're afraid that the balance on his account isn't enough to be approved.

Now we are wondering if it would be wiser for me to not apply, because if I'm denied then the use of my ESTA isn't as easy or can be denied as well, and wait until we want to get married or something to file for an immigrant visa if it becomes our plans in the future.

Is my situation going to be an obstacle for me to get my visa approved?

Do my previous trips to the US help me or are gonna be a disadvantage for this process?
Can my parents be my sponsor, even if my boyfriend is gonna actually be the principal provider during my stay ?

Does being a citizen of a country member of the VWP making it more difficult to get a tourist visa ?
I need some advice on what I should do...
Thank you for your attention

9 minutes ago, Calendula said: