d and c

student receving unemployment & foodstamp benefits will it affect the k1 visa

36 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Ghana
Timeline

Hello my VJ friends,

My significant other and I have decided to apply for the k-1 visa. However, I am a full-time university student but I am currently on unemployment benefits. I have two children who aren't the finance's children and I am on foodstamp and medical benefits. Also, I have already asked my brother to be the financial support person which he has already agreed to. How will this affect me applying for him to come into the USA?

Any advice will be appreciated!

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Ecuador
Timeline

*** Thread shifted from K-1 Case Progress to K-1 Process. ***

06-04-2007 = TSC stamps postal return-receipt for I-129f.

06-11-2007 = NOA1 date (unknown to me).

07-20-2007 = Phoned Immigration Officer; got WAC#; where's NOA1?

09-25-2007 = Touch (first-ever).

09-28-2007 = NOA1, 23 days after their 45-day promise to send it (grrrr).

10-20 & 11-14-2007 = Phoned ImmOffs; "still pending."

12-11-2007 = 180 days; file is "between workstations, may be early Jan."; touches 12/11 & 12/12.

12-18-2007 = Call; file is with Division 9 ofcr. (bckgrnd check); e-prompt to shake it; touch.

12-19-2007 = NOA2 by e-mail & web, dated 12-18-07 (187 days; 201 per VJ); in mail 12/24/07.

01-09-2008 = File from USCIS to NVC, 1-4-08; NVC creates file, 1/15/08; to consulate 1/16/08.

01-23-2008 = Consulate gets file; outdated Packet 4 mailed to fiancee 1/27/08; rec'd 3/3/08.

04-29-2008 = Fiancee's 4-min. consular interview, 8:30 a.m.; much evidence brought but not allowed to be presented (consul: "More proof! Second interview! Bring your fiance!").

05-05-2008 = Infuriating $12 call to non-English-speaking consulate appointment-setter.

05-06-2008 = Better $12 call to English-speaker; "joint" interview date 6/30/08 (my selection).