RussianAmerican

Marrying on Tourist Visa: Help to Understand

19 posts in this topic

Filed: Timeline

Hello!

I'm so happy I found this site, it seems everybody here are very generous when it comes to spreading knowledge and share the experience:)

I'm currently in Atlanta, GA, on my tourist visa. I've been coming to USA back and forth for 5 yrs, never was denied a visa, never overstayed. My boyfriend, American citizen, just proposed to me and we're very excited to get married.

Originally I'm from Russia, but I would love to stay in USA with my future husband. So I guess after we get married I'll have to apply for Adjustment Of Status, right? And that's as much as I know about the process:)

Can anybody who's been through the same situation, explain me the steps I should take now and appox time frames?

And I entered USA on may 6th, stamp in my passport says I can stay till nov 5th. We want to get married late June-early July. And I'd need to go back to Russia before the end of 2011 to re-new my passport.

Thank you in advance!!

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Pakistan
Timeline

Hello!

I'm so happy I found this site, it seems everybody here are very generous when it comes to spreading knowledge and share the experience:)

I'm currently in Atlanta, GA, on my tourist visa. I've been coming to USA back and forth for 5 yrs, never was denied a visa, never overstayed. My boyfriend, American citizen, just proposed to me and we're very excited to get married.

Originally I'm from Russia, but I would love to stay in USA with my future husband. So I guess after we get married I'll have to apply for Adjustment Of Status, right? And that's as much as I know about the process:)

Can anybody who's been through the same situation, explain me the steps I should take now and appox time frames?