Tereza

Can my spouse apply for CR-1 while I'm in the states on esta (before I go back home)

18 posts in this topic

Hello

My fiance and I want to get married this year and because of our school/work schedules and the pandemic, we dont have too many options. I would like to visit him for the summer (either the travel ban will be lifted by then or I'd quarantine somewhere and then go), we would get married there and I'd go back home. My problem is, I'd like to stay for about 2 months (I'm a student, so I only need to be back in september), but we'd like to get married and start the immigration process asap. We've been together for 3 years, long-distance the entire time.

Is it legal for him to send out the I-130 petition while I am still in the states on esta, when I would definitelly go back home later in the summer? Eg. I'd arrive at the beginning of July, we'd get married within a week, send the petition mid July and I'd go back home late August?

Thank you

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Myanmar
Timeline
44 minutes ago, Tereza said:

Is it legal for him to send out the I-130 petition while I am still in the states on esta, when I would definitelly go back home later in the summer? Eg. I'd arrive at the beginning of July, we'd get married within a week, send the petition mid July and I'd go back home late August?

This is legal. The CBP officer at the border has discretion to admit you or send you back. 

At the border when I arrive, I assume? I know about that and to be perfectly honest, I don't plan to tell them my plans unless they explicitly ask :D I was more worried about going back home with a pending petition. I dont know why it should be illegal (you can travel to see your spouse on esta while waiting on the visa afterall), but you never know.

Filed: AOS (apr) Country: Philippines
Timeline
8 minutes ago, Tereza said: