Olga&Jared

Work issue before receiving permit

24 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Russia
Timeline

Hey guys!

So I was reading this topic and I got a few questions regarding work after I join my fiancé in the US and we get married. I understand that officially I cannot work until I receive the work permit which takes quite some time. But what if I don't intend to work at any American companies?

I am an artist/illustrator. in Russia, I'm officially registered as an Independent Contractor. So I pay taxes, work legally etc. I intend to do the same thing in the US. Is it possible for me to still take orders before I get my work permit and then pay taxes for this period post-factum? 

Another thing I was wondering about is that before I get any documents which would give me any rights on a territory of the US, I can still be authorized to do the same work as a Russian citizen, can't I? It's a very tricky question when it comes to remote work because I don't provide any physical services. My clients come from all over the world and basically, everything is being done online. Can I remain working before the permit and pay taxes in Russia, for example?

Also, I have accounts on platforms like Upwork and Fiverr where I get taxed from every order. Can I keep working there?

So far these are the variants I was thinking about. Could you please let me know if I can make it work somehow? Being able to take clients is important for me because it builds up my portfolio and ability to increase my income once I'm in the states. Half a year break is going to affect it in a bad way. 

Filed: AOS (apr) Country: Netherlands
Timeline
14 minutes ago, Olga&Jared said:

Hey guys!

So I was reading this topic and I got a few questions regarding work after I join my fiancé in the US and we get married. I understand that officially I cannot work until I receive the work permit which takes quite some time. But what if I don't intend to work at any American companies?