buck1ea

Early Naturalization For SOFA Spouse

27 posts in this topic

I'm in Korea working on an Army base. I have SOFA status and I'm an invited contractor. My Korean wife has a green card. Can she apply for early naturalization? I'm not a military member, my company is not involved in trade (the two provisions for early naturalization), but I am here working for the Army with a VISA on official business. Can my wife file her N-400 before the allotted time since I am overseas working for the US Army? 

4 minutes ago, buck1ea said:

I'm in Korea working on an Army base. I have SOFA status and I'm an invited contractor. My Korean wife has a green card. Can she apply for early naturalization? I'm not a military member, my company is not involved in trade (the two provisions for early naturalization), but I am here working for the Army with a VISA on official business. Can my wife file her N-400 before the allotted time since I am overseas working for the US Army? 

Spouses of military don't have special rules to apply early for naturalization?

https://www.uscis.gov/military/citizenship-family-members

4 minutes ago, buck1ea said:

I'm not in military, I'm a civilian contractor. I worked for the Army, they are my customer. I am in Korea on government orders. 

It doesn't matter. There aren't special rules that give veterans, contractors, etc. special privileges for their spouses to apply for naturalization earlier than the three or five year rule.

Being married to AD military assigned overseas by itself does not confer a special right to be naturalized prior to at least 3 years. I doubt that being a military contractor would.

Check out the link that GreatDane posted.

“The fact that we are here and that I speak these words is an attempt to break that silence and bridge some
of those differences between us, for it is not difference which immobilizes us, but silence.
And there are so many silences to be broken.”

Audre Lorde

Filed: Citizen (pnd) Country: Ukraine