andaluza

B2 Visa Refused - International Student

46 posts in this topic

Filed: Timeline

Hello

I want to visit my sister in the USA and I was refused a B2 visa. I am currently studying abroad from my residential country on my own.

I was denied a Visa because of 214(b) :

What does a visa denial under INA section 214(b) mean?

This law applies only to nonimmigrant visa categories. If you are refused a visa under section 214(b), it means that you:

• Did not sufficiently demonstrate to the consular officer that you qualify for the nonimmigrant visa category you applied for; and/or
  • Did not overcome the presumption of immigrant intent, required by law, by sufficiently demonstrating that you have strong ties to your home country that will compel you to leave the United States at the end of your temporary stay. (H-1B and L visa applicants, along with their spouse and any minor children, are excluded from this requirement.)

I was refused because as she said I am studying abroad and don't have strong ties to where I am residing. Well I am studying in a World Top 50 university, very tough to get in and I paid a LOT of money to be here, also I'm an EU resident. If I wanted to go to the US instead of spending $30k in coming to this country I could have done the same and enrolled in a school in the US . I paid ALL of this years tuition fees, and a have a yearly rental agreement.

I don't think her judgmenet was fair and she said that as long as I am a foreign student here my visa will get refused because that does not show strong ties.

It also said that "there is no appeal process" .

Is there anything I can do ? I don't think her judgment was fair. All I want is to see my sister which I haven't seen in 2 years and I don't understand why I am not allowed to. She even said 'well she can come and visit you here' . So why is she able to do so and I cant if we have the same status - foreign students ?