DizzyLixt

Do we even need a k-1 visa?

51 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Canada
Timeline

Hi. My question is do we even need to go through the k1 process? Wouldn't it be better to have my fiancee visit me in the u.s and we get married here. Then file for Adjustment of status? Wouldn't that be quicker then waiting for a k1 visa?

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Russia
Timeline

The issue here is the intentions and how immigration perceives that when your fiancé tries to enter the country. If they are indeed your fiancé and are asked upon entry what their intention is for this visit, USCIS may perceive they plan to stay and get married even if your fiancé says they are just visiting. Your fiancé may be denied entry potentially causing headaches in the future. I am not an expert at this, but overall, this is the reason they have different grades of visas, they cover a wide variety of intentions (I.e. Work, study, tourism, marriage, etc.).

Good Luck!

Visa Received : 2014-04-04 (K1 - see timeline for details)

US Entry : 2014-09-12

POE: Detroit

Marriage : 2014-09-27

I-765 Approved: 2015-01-09

I-485 Interview: 2015-03-11

I-485 Approved: 2015-03-13

Green Card Received: 2015-03-24 Yeah!!!

I-751 ROC Submitted: 2016-12-20

I-751 NOA Received:  2016-12-29

I-751 Biometrics Appt.:  2017-01-26

I-751 Interview:  2018-04-10

I-751 Approved:  2018-05-04

N400 Filed:  2018-01-13

N400 Biometrics:  2018-02-22

N400 Interview:  2018-04-10

N400 Approved:  2018-04-10

Oath Ceremony:  2018-06-11 - DONE!!!!!!!

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Sweden
Timeline

Hi. My question is do we even need to go through the k1 process? Wouldn't it be better to have my fiancee visit me in the u.s and we get married here. Then file for Adjustment of status? Wouldn't that be quicker then waiting for a k1 visa?

Coming here on any other visa or VWP with the intention of getting married and adjust status is visa fraud.

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Sweden
Timeline