acabrelles

General advice for someone new to the US

34 posts in this topic

Timeline

Hello there!

I never knew that such a helpful place existed, thank you for the help you offer to so many people. I don't know if you answer these types of questions, or if I am in a proper forum page for it, but here goes.

I am a Spanish citizen that after two years in an online relationship, have decided to quit my job and plan ahead and spend all of my time and energy into finding a life with my significant other. This stay would be for 3 months, using an ESTA waiver (88 days), while I prepare medically at home (waiting times) to then make proper adjustments to go for a K-1 Visa or a working visa (I have a master's degree, so hopefully that'd help me out) in the future. The thing is, this relationship is with another man, and I don't know if I'll be undergoing discrimination in the interviews at the airport, or if I should say I'm staying with a friend, or with a significant other.

Would you please give me some advice as to what to say at customs, or if I'd be okay with saying the truth (which is what I said up there). I've been told in the past that some friends were brought into customs for hours after barely mentioning they were in a gay relationship (it slipped in the 'where are you going to stay' questions) and it made me anxious as to what I should say.

I am trying to inform myself as much as I can and this website has already helped me a lot before even making this post, so thank you for that already.

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Wales
Timeline

I agree with the above, the only thing you mention that is a non issue is that you are in a same sex relationship.

“If you know the enemy and know yourself, you need not fear the result of a hundred battles. If you know yourself but not the enemy, for every victory gained you will also suffer a defeat. If you know neither the enemy nor yourself, you will succumb in every battle.”

Timeline