Hello,

A quick overview of my timeline before I ask a question:

Baltimore, MD

1/13/2020 Application Received

1/17/2020 Biometrics Scheduled

1/27/2020 Biometrics Attended/Reviewed

9/9/2020 Interview Scheduled

10/14/2020 Scheduled Interview Date

However, I'm a semiconductor engineer and I have a business trip to Korea from 9/27/2020 to 1/4/2021.

This trip is very important and accommodations like housing are already arranged.

I am planning to reschedule my interview and I head that I need to follow the rescheduling instructions on the interview notice that I got and explain my situation by mail.

My question is, will USCIS reschedule my interview after I return from Korea? Or is it completely random and they may reschedule it before I come back to the States?

I don't mind the extra wait due to rescheduling, but I cannot return to the States and go back to Korea due to the Korea's COVID-19 prevention and quarantine law.

Thank you in advance and feel free to give me any extra advices.

Stay safe and good luck to everyone!

Filed: AOS (pnd) Country: Germany
Timeline

They'll reschedule you for the next free appointment and you have no saying in it. Might be 4 weeks or 4 months later.

Of course you can try and explain that you won't be back before that date and ask for a new appointment after you get back but I don't know if they care.

Thank you for your reply.

Is it possible to reschedule after the first reschedule?

That is, if they reschedule it before I come back, may I reschedule it again?

Thank you.

Edit to my comment above,

I read somewhere that one may reschedule the interview up to two times.

If the 2nd reschedule request is filed, and the 3rd appointment date later given also doesn't work out, the N400 will be automatically denied.

I am not sure if this is 100% true, however.

Filed: Timeline

Acc to this post, VJer was given two chances for interview, both of which he missed so USCIS administratively closed his case.