19 posts in this topic

Timeline

So, I just got my prima facie...

who knows, what benefits am I eligible for?

I still live with my abusive husband but he is planning to move to another apartment and tells me to find illegal job and move out. Still waiting for my EAD (received NOA-1 on May 15).

My friend is renting 1 bedroom and she'd let me sleep on the couch as long as I need but she can't also feed me etc.

Am I eligible for any cash assistance and food stamps until I have a job? What documents do I need? What I should tell at DSS office? Honestly I'm not very good at crying on public and being a damsel in distress. What if they decide I don't need help that much?

Filed: Other Country: Brazil
Timeline

Find a shelter for victims of domestic violence and you will be able to have a place to stay, and after being in the shelter for a wile you might get a transitional apartment that is provided for victims of domestic violence. 

Violence Intervention Program- They provide shelter and transitional-home for 2 years.
(800) 664-5880
24 hrs./7 days

Safe Horizon
(800) 621-4693
24 hrs./7 days

Sanctuary for Families
(718) 993-5990 or (212) 349-6009
Mon.-Fri., 9 am – 5 pm; some evening appointments may be available.
NYC Family Justice Center, 198 E. 161st St., 2nd Floor, Bronx

New York Asian Women's Center
(888) 888-7702 24 hrs./7 days

Filed: Other Timeline

What difference does it make if you are safe? A true victim of domestic abuse will do whatever is required to leave the situation.

You can always return home especially since you are relatively new to the US. You comment makes it sound like you are only in this arrangement for a green card.

You need to speak with an attorney and let him/her speak for you before you hurt your case.

On 8/12/2018 at 3:39 AM, CEE53147 said:

It will vary by location and sponsor.   You are far too worried about the conditions at a shelter than about your safety. This makes your claim of abuse suspicious.