ty15

Joining the USAF with a Conditional Green Card?

17 posts in this topic

Filed: Citizen (pnd) Country: Germany
Timeline

Hey guys,

Was anyone here able to join the USAF or any other branch with their Conditional Green card? My husband serves and I would like to make it a career as well. I have a bachelors degree but since I’m not a US citizen I would have to join enlisted first and then switch over to be an officer.  I will go and talk to a recruiter as well but I was just curious if anyone here joined the military. Thanks in advance.

8 minutes ago, ty15 said:

Hey guys,

Was anyone here able to join the USAF or any other branch with their Conditional Green card? My husband serves and I would like to make it a career as well. I have a bachelors degree but since I’m not a US citizen I would have to join enlisted first and then switch over to be an officer.  I will go and talk to a recruiter as well but I was just curious if anyone here joined the military. Thanks in advance.

All branches accept those with conditional green cards. Having a degree isn't what separates enlisted vs. officers. Many become officers while in college through ROTC programs. There are four routes to becoming an officer. (Army shown below)

WHAT IS THE PROCESS TO BECOME AN OFFICER?

There are four paths to becoming an Officer:

Army Reserve Officers’ Training Corps (ROTC) is a program in which undergraduate and graduate students enroll in elective leadership and military courses at colleges and universities in addition to the courses required for their degree. Enrollees receive a generous stipend and money toward books, tuition and more. At graduation, students are commissioned as U.S. Army Officers at the rank of Second Lieutenant.

Direct Commission provides leaders in professional fields such as law, medicine and religion the opportunity to become an Army Officer.