Jeff A

Newbie - K1 Visa for my Romanian Girlfriend

35 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Romania
Timeline

First, let me say that I am a complete newbie to all of this, and that I want to thank everyone in advance for having patience with me and offering advice.

I am dating and completely in love with a beautiful lady from Romania. We have talked at length several times about the future, and we have agreed that we would like to get married and have her come live here in Florida with me. I have three children from a previous marriage, and she doesn't want me to leave them to be in Romania with her. She is currently finishing up her masters degree, and will be done at the end of Summer 2013. It is at that point that we would like her to come here to the United States so that we can get married. I have looked into sites like RapidVisa or contacting a lawyer, but from reading posts here, it seems that the process could be done without those.

But I have a lot of questions, and hope some of you will be willing to help me.

First - Proof of the Relationship:

Simmy and I met online. I hope that this is not something that is frowned upon. We met in a chat room, and since then it has progressed from their to emailing and talking on yahoo messenger. Then we exchanged telephone numbers, and we talk all the time. I usually call her because the expense is not something that she can afford right now. After we talked for several months, we agreed that I would come to visit her, and I did in July 2012. We had a wonderful time together, and I have several pictures of us together. I also gave her an iPad, and we continue to talk on the phone, via Yahoo, but also now through iMessage and Facetime.

1. Will it be frowned upon because we met online at first?

2. She doesn't email a lot, and most of our chats are via Yahoo or iMessage. Will these be accepted as proof of the relationship?