Phenom

Adjustment of status, still an option?

15 posts in this topic

Filed: AOS (pnd) Country: Mexico
Timeline

Hello everyone, my wife (USC) and I (intending immigrant) got some good news in today's mail. Her I-130 has been approved and I am now able to submit form I-485 for adjustment of status. However, we see a couple of issues that may cause some hiccups along the process. First, some history:

Entry:

I am 31 years old and have been in the US since November of 1990 (22 years), I have never left the country in that time.

My family entered the country on visitor visas, through a port of entry, with inspection.

Any I-94s or like documents have been lost or misplaced since our time of entry.

School/Work:

I graduated from a US high school.

I've worked in the US, illegally, and have used a fake SSN.

Marriage/Family:

We were married in Sept 2010 and have lived together since.

Our daughter was born in July 2011.

I-485 Filing:

We filed for adjustment of status concurrently with this I-130 application. USCIS sent us a RFE asking for affidavit of support (I-864). We sent the I-864 plus an additional I-864 from a joint sponsor. My wife is a stay at home mom and has no income at this time. USCIS responded with a second RFE for our joint sponsor, asking for his 2011 tax return, which was not available because he had filed an extension with IRS, therefore, the I-485 application was denied citing lack of evidence (the joint sponsor's tax return) and the money we paid for filing fees is gone.