Janethscholar

Can a K1 visa be denied because of cancer? better getting married and then apply for a CR1?

19 posts in this topic

Filed: Timeline

Hello there!!! I am a Colombian girl, 41 years old, dating a USA citizen for 3 years and 8 months now. He is a dentist, I am a Professor, we lived together for one year while I was a visiting scholar in a University in Atlanta, I was a J1 and my daughter a J2. After that year my daughter and I returned to our country, requested a waiver of the two year home residency that was already granted by the USCIS. MY boyfriend and I decided to file for a fiancee visa, we got all the pictures, emails, flight tickets, etc. but before doing so, I was diagnosed with a stomach cancer, I went to surgery and they removed my whole stomach, no metastasis thanks God :) . I am right now going through chemo and radiation and will be done with the treatment at the end of October. We are planning to file for the K1 visa at the end of July but I am afraid that when I go through the medical exams they reject me because of my surgery and because on the Xrays they will see I have no stomach. I will need an advice if it will be better that my boyfriend comes to Colombia and we get married here to file immediately for a CR1 or if the fact that I went through cancer will be an obstacle. Anyone with a similar experience? I would love to hear from you, any help will be welcomed.

Janeth (F)

Filed: Lift. Cond. (pnd) Country: Egypt
Timeline

You will not be denied because of cancer.

K1 visa process
06/08/2011 I-129 sent
06/11/2011 I-129F NOA1 (Receipt)
09/23/2011 I-129F NOA2 (Approved)
10/11/2011 Package Received By NVC
10/11/2011 Package Left From NVC
10/16/2011 Received By Consulate
10/20/2011 Rec Instructions (Pkt 3)
11/09/2011 Complete Instructions (Pkt 3)
01/21/2012 Rec Appointment Letter (Pkt 4)
02/21/2012 Interview Date (K1 Visa)
02/21/2012 Interview Result Approved
02/29/2012 K1 Visa Received

03/16/2012 US Entry
03/19/2012 Marriage