Noor Kayyali

My green card was taken in 2012 by a racist officer

16 posts in this topic

Filed: Country: Jordan
Timeline

Hello everyone, im from the middle east, Jordan

and my family applied for a green card long time ago through my uncles who lived in the states, in Florida and Ohio

we finally received green cards in 2004, I was 14 at the time, we were told to keep visiting annually in order to keep the green card running until we decide to reside, and I had school in my hometown

therefore we kept our green card valid for 8 years until I graduated from school, in 2012 I visited Florida to search for a college, they have stopped me and sent me to the immigration office, saying that Ive been visiting and need to reside, and so my turn was up at the window and this specific officer was telling me I could freeze my Green card until I finally decide to reside in the states then reclaim it easily from the american embassy in my home town Jordan, I explained to him that a few years back we wanted a year off and not visit the states and had to make a White passport, which is permission to not take away the green card for being away from the states for more than 12 months, He said no you could freeze it for as many years as you need to be out of the states and simply reclaim it with no problems, Unfortunately he managed to talk me into it and I have given up my green card, 2 Years later I went to the American Embassy in Jordan to "Reclaim my Green Card", I was confident and all, there they told me I was fooled because there is no such thing, and no form exists to reclaim a taken green card and that my only option was hiring a lawyer against that man who I can never reach anyways. and so I am stuck, Married now and my hopes of living in the states are gone, we have spent so much money getting and trying to keep the green card, and now i have no idea how to bring my case to justice and reclaim my green card that was taken from me, I intended to keep it no matter the cos