Captkanga

Household size for I-864 affidavit of support

19 posts in this topic

Filed: Other Country: Argentina
Timeline

Apologies if this has been discussed previously.

I’m a California resident and am wondering what the household size requirements would be for the scenario where I would want to sponsor my fiancé and our (currently unborn) child. 

If they came here, would this indicate a household size of 3 for the purposes of financial support? 

I’m also wondering, if in addition to being financially responsible for my dependents for a period of 10 years, would that operate completely separately from alimony requirements in the event of a divorce? In other words, if we got divorced, would I be responsible for both the I-864 finances and also be open to her taking half of all my assets and income?

Timeline

@Dashinka we have considered a CR-1 visa, the problem is that that would add that much more waiting time to the overall visa as I’d need to first travel to her country, get married, then submit the application which would make the clock start at that time, vs now. My understanding is that the wait times are close to the same for K1 to CR1.

thanks for your response 

3 minutes ago, Captkanga said:

I had no idea there was no limit. And especially if she remarries!

Good that you asked about this early.  Some may say that thinking about divorce at this stage is unromantic, but life doesn't always go our way, despite our best intentions.  My view is that it's best to enter marriage with eyes wide open, more so a marriage that would involve the I-864.  If you browse through this sub-forum, you will find recent examples of people who realized too late how the I-864 they signed could be used against them.

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Myanmar
Timeline
19 minutes ago, Captkanga said:

that would add that much more waiting time to the overall visa as I’d need to first travel to her country, get married, then submit the application