JakeChi

How Many Marriage Certificate Copies Should I Request?

10 posts in this topic

I'm a US citizen getting married soon in the country Georgia with my fiancé who is a citizen of Uzbekistan. We plan to start the CR-1 application process shortly after that, and I wanted to know how many copies of the marriage certificate you would recommend we request from the Georgian Public Service Hall? A single translated copy with an apostille costs around $50, and each additional certified copy costs another $10. We'll be leaving Georgia after the wedding, so we don't want to have to come back here just for the purpose of issuing additional copies in the future.

More context: I'm still learning about the CR-1 process but I know there are a lot of stages (USCIS, NVC, Embassy Interview) and I imagine that once we arrive in the United States we might be asked to present marriage certificates for various other bureaucratic purposes too (bank accounts, insurance, etc.) I just don't know if the tendency among the authorities in the US is to take the original certified copy and keep it for themselves, if they usually return it after verifying it's authenticity, or if they typically just accept photocopies.

It’s a personal choice, I’d say 5 (?) should be sufficient. Various institutions here (banks, DMV) ask to present an original at an appointment, after which they give it back to you. Even when I submitted documents for my adjustment of status to USCIS, I only submitted a photocopy. When I went to the interview with my husband, the IO asked for an original after which it was given back to me at the end of the interview. The only place I had to give away my original certified copy was when I had to renew my passport at the embassy of my country in the US and wanted to change my last name.