LunaSky

Less than 180 days in a year

18 posts in this topic

Hello gurus,

I've got a quick question, hope someone can clarify it....

I've been a LPR for almost a year.

- I work as a flight attendant in the UK,
- On my days off (from flying) I go home to      the US,
- When in the US I have a part-time job,

I pay taxes, I have credit cards and bills
under my name,
- We file our taxes as a couple,
-  I'm on his work healthcare package,
- The house in our name (husband's and mine) (no mortgage though)
- Only thing worrying me right now, is that I won't reach the 180 days in the country... I will probably reach 150/160 days

- My GC is a 10yr card

Will this be a problem in the future if I decide to apply for citizenship?

Many thanks 🙏🙏🙏

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Wales
Timeline

It will delay until you can apply.

“If you know the enemy and know yourself, you need not fear the result of a hundred battles. If you know yourself but not the enemy, for every victory gained you will also suffer a defeat. If you know neither the enemy nor yourself, you will succumb in every battle.”

You need to apply under 5 year rule and count 913 days of physical presence. Don’t apply under the 3 year rule because you risk not meeting the under the same roof test of marital union and USCIS often uses the very limited interpretation of sleeping under same roof.

https://fam.state.gov/fam/09FAM/09FAM020102.html

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Myanmar
Timeline
55 minutes ago, LunaSky said:

Only thing worrying me right now,

That shouldn’t be your only worry. You are not spending enough time in USA to retain your green card. You need to be spending more days in U.S. than outside. You need to be spending at least 366/2 + 1 = 184 days 

is that I won't reach the 180 days in the country... I will probably reach 150/160 days

And 180 days isn’t enough.