KelsJosh

Canadian Bank wants my ITIN

16 posts in this topic

Filed: AOS (apr) Country: Canada
Timeline

My bank in Canada is requesting my ITIN, I am a permanent resident now and I don't think I was ever issued one (I got my SSN 2 weeks after entering the U.S.) 

I am super confused on the difference between the two and online all I can find is that if I have a SSN already I can't get apply for a ITIN nor do I need one? anyone know?

thanks

1 hour ago, KelsJosh said:

My bank in Canada is requesting my ITIN, I am a permanent resident now and I don't think I was ever issued one (I got my SSN 2 weeks after entering the U.S.) 

I am super confused on the difference between the two and online all I can find is that if I have a SSN already I can't get apply for a ITIN nor do I need one? anyone know?

thanks

Inform them you have an SSN and give that to them OR just give them your SSN. Generally banks request ITIN OR SSN… ITINs are for people who have financial ties to the US but for various reasons can’t obtain an SSN. 

Edited by ROK2USA

Out of curiosity, why would a Canadian bank be interested in your US taxpayer status? Do you use a Canadian bank account for income you earn in the US?

Why wouldn't you open and use a US bank account for living in the US?

Edited by OldUser

12 hours ago, OldUser said:

Out of curiosity, why would a Canadian bank be interested in your US taxpayer status?

It's a US government requirement, actually.  Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act (FATCA) requires foreign financial institutions to report on foreign assets owned by US tax persons.  If the foreign bank does not comply with FATCA requirements, the bank will be heavily fined when they do certain US-based transactions.

On 12/1/2022 at 9:16 PM, OldUser said:

Out of curiosity, why would a Canadian bank be interested in your US taxpayer status? Do you use a Canadian bank account for income you earn in the US?