kerulberul

F1 Student Married to Green Cards Holder

15 posts in this topic

Filed: F-1 Visa Country: Singapore
Timeline

Good morning,

My wife and I just got married in Miami. I'm an F1 student from Singapore and she is a Permanent Resident. 

I've browsed around VJ and read that she needs to file the I130 and I need to file the i485 AOS as an F2A candidate.

I'm currently doing the paperwork for both right now but have a few questions.

1) Can I file the i130 and i485 concurrently?

If yes can I file the i130 online and send the i485 package or must both of them be sent physically?

If not, it means she needs to file the i130 first and then I can file the i485 correct?

2) My wife can apply for citizenship around Feb 2022, should I wait for her to get the citizenship first then apply as a CR1?

3) with the i485 AOS wait always being so long, what happens if I finished my OPT and I'm still waiting for it? Do I need to go back to my country or can I extend my stay?

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Kenya
Timeline

Self Delete as I have updated it below

Edited by Timona

Immigration journey is not: fast, for the faint at heart, easy, cheap, for the impatient nor right away. If more than 50% of this applies to you, best get off the bus.

Timeline

Wait, I think PD for all F2A are current right now, unless I am reading the visa bulletin wrong.

I would file the I-130 online, get the receipt from online and then file the I-485 and the rest....Why? I am not sure if you can send all at once for your category. So to be on the safe side, file the I-130 first online and then the rest immediately afterwards since F2A is currently current. This will still be considered concurrent filing, regardless.

https://www.uscis.gov/green-card/green-card-processes-and-procedures/visa-availability-priority-dates/when-to-file-your-adjustment-of-status-application-for-family-sponsored-or-employment-based-66

@SusieQQQ is an expert at reading bulletins. Lemme call her for help.