TYosemite

Overstay *stressing myself out again*

10 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Canada
Timeline

Okay so something has come up that has started to stress me out a little (what’s new)& I’m looking for advice.

Up until February of this year I’d been travelling back & forth across the border to visit my now fiancé since 2018 (we were just dating at the time).

Now I’m a Canadian Permanent Resident, with a British Passport so I’m part of the VWP. I have a valid ESTA. Once my I-94 ran out after & I re-entered I was granted a new one. 

None of the border officers really had an issue with this since I lived 20 minutes from the border to Niagara Falls, NY and would literally walk across the Rainbow Bridge.

However because of my UK passport, regardless of the fact I’ve lived in Canada since I was 12.

I’m only allowed 90 days in the US as opposed to the 180 Canadian Citizens are allowed. 

I have never stayed in the US for more than 10 days at a time (most of the time honestly it was 4-5 including the days I entered & departed, 10 days was just when we went on vacation) & then I would leave for AT LEAST a week as my fiancé and I took turns visiting one another every other week.

I’ve never overstayed on any I-94’s but have been granted more than one within any rolling year.
Again, CBP never raised any issues with this, it was just a “ok pay the $13 here’s a new one”.

In fact I was instructed to apply for ESTA so that I didn’t need to spend so much time filling out the form for the I-94 every time I needed a new one.

I’m now worried I’ll be denied at my K1 Visa interview for overstaying as technically within a rolling year I did spend more than 90 day’s in the US (although not consecutively). 

Are they just looking at overstays for consecutive days on one visa/I-94 or days total within a rolling year?

Filed: AOS (apr) Country: Canada
Timeline