N0mad

Traveling the world together while waiting for CR-1 viable?

8 posts in this topic

Timeline

After my fiancee and I looked at both K-1 and CR-1 processes, we were very upset with the lengthy times. It's literally as if the government is stealing 1-2% of each of our lives. Since we're both in mid-30s, and eventually want kids, neither of us wants to wait around for 1-2 years while the CR-1 is processing (CR-1 seems like a saner option due to lower rejection rate, fewer headaches, and ability to get her a job here as soon as possible). A crazy idea popped into my head the other day. I'm a software developer, and it's relatively easy to find remote jobs in software. So I could work remotely while the 2 of us travel the world together, as long as CR-1 process allows that. Another option (since I have sufficient savings and investment income) is to not work at all during this time (the cost of living would be cheaper in many of the countries we could travel to, the only one losing out here is Uncle Sam on the tax revenue). This can effectively work as our honeymoon.

Before moving forward with this, I have the following concerns:

- Will CR-1 process/interview be negatively impacted by the fact that I (a US citizen) will be abroad for majority of their process?

- Will CR-1 be negatively impacted if I don't work during this time/travel? If the issue is being able to prove that I can provide for my future spouse, can I simply get a job shortly before the final interview (my employer would be happy to have me back)?

- Will CR-1 be negatively impacted by the fact that she travels (legally, using tourist visas) for majority of their process instead of staying in her country?

- For CR-1, can she marry me while visiting on a B-1 she already has? Alternatively, if we get married in one of the countries we travel to, how hard would it be to convert that certificate to US for the purposes of CR-1?