simonschus

Global Entry kiosks - which way in does the Green Card go?

14 posts in this topic

Ello ello ello.

Hopefully not a silly question so please don't berate me if it is haha!

I'm going to be using Global Entry program with my Green Card for the first time soon (previously, I used Global Entry using my passport under the Visa Waiver Program).

When using the GE Kiosks, which way up do you place you green card? The photo side facing down? Or the photo side facing up? How far do you slide it along the scanner? I was so used to doing it with the passport!

I hope this isn't a silly question! I don't want to get the 'X' just because I've placed the card the wrong way around!

Simon.

P.S. The reason why I'm confused is because I don't know which side the scanner is interested in, the photo side or the side with the barcode.

Edited by simonschus

I've been using GE for a couple years now and I've had it read my GC once. :)

I always just type in the number now rather than faff about trying to get it to read, which also means I basically never take out and show my GC to anyone anymore.

* I-130/CR-1 visa by Direct Consular Filing in London
3rd May 2013 - Married in London

7th May 2013 - I-130 filed
4th June 2013 - NOA2 (approved)
16th July 2013 - Interview (approved)
30th July 2013 - POE San Francisco
29th August 2013 - 2 year green card arrived

* How? Read my DCF London I-130 for CR1/IR1 Spouse Guide

* Removal of Conditions (RoC) via California Service Centre
1st May 2015 - 90 day RoC window opened
6th May 2015 - I-751 filed (delivered 8th May, cheque cashed 18th May)
7th August 2015 - Approved / GC production

27th August 2015 - 10 year green card arrived

* Naturalisation (Citizenship) via Phoenix Lockbox

* San Francisco Field Office:
1st May 2016 - N-400 window opened
20th August 2016 - N-400 filed

26th August 2016 - NOA1
13th September 2016 - Biometrics

12th January 2017 - Biometrics (again)
30th May 2017 - Interview (approved)
7th June 2017 - Oath