clairegie

So I tried to drive....

27 posts in this topic

Last weekend, my husband let me get behind the wheel to park our car. I have never seen him so scared for his life. I honestly don't think I did bad haha. I wasn't even scared. A little problem was that I'm short so its hard to reach the pedals lol. How long did it take for you guys to learn to drive?

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Canada
Timeline

If your husband is a nervous teacher, I would advise going to driving lessons with a professional. My mother was a nervous teacher and taught me all kinds of bad habits because of it and then I went to driving lessons and I am a MUCH safer driver for it.

Met in 2010 on a forum for a mutual interest. Became friends.
2011: Realized we needed to evaluate our status as friends when we realized we were talking about raising children together.

2011/2012: Decided we were a couple sometime in, but no possibility of being together due to being same sex couple.

June 26, 2013: DOMA overturned. American married couples ALL have the same federal rights at last! We can be a family!

June-September, 2013: Discussion about being together begins.

November 13, 2013: Meet in person to see if this could work. It's perfect. We plan to elope to Boston, MA.

March 13, 2014 Married!

May 9, 2014: Petition mailed to USCIS

May 12, 2014: NOA1.
October 27, 2014: NOA2. (5 months, 2 weeks, 1 day after NOA1)
October 31, 2014: USCIS ships file to NVC (five days after NOA2) Happy Halloween for us!

November 18, 2014: NVC receives our case (22 days after NOA2)

December 17, 2014: NVC generates case number (50 days after NOA2)

December 19, 2014: Receive AOS bill, DS-261. Submit DS-261 (52 days after NOA2)

December 20, 2014: Pay AOS Fee

January 7, 2015: Receive, pay IV Fee

January 10, 2015: Complete DS-260

January 11, 2015: Send AOS package and Civil Documents
March 23, 2015: Case Complete at NVC. (70 days from when they received docs to CC)

May 6, 2015: Interview at Montréal APPROVED!